The Biafran pound was the currency of the Republic of Biafra between 1968 and 1970.The notes denomination was 5 shilling and £1 was later introduced on January 29, 1968. A series of coins was introduced in 1969 and were denominated  6 pence, 3 pence, 1 shilling ,and 2½ shilling coins .In February 1969, a second family of notes was issued consisting of 5 shilling, 10 shilling, £1, £5 and £10 denominations. 

Facebook Comments
  I Recommend

Related posts

Leave a Comment